Australian Cricket World Cup Squad Named

Monday, April 15th, 2019

The Australian World Cup Squad has been named, with Steve Smith and Dave Warner set to return.

Re-contracted, repaired, and – selectors will be hoping – revitalised, the former skipper and his deputy walk-up starts for next month’s tournament.

The pair have both had surgery for elbow injuries in January and have been limbering up in the Indian Premier League.

Their bans for their role in the Cape Town ball tampering saga ended at the end of last month and, as expected, they are both walk-up starts for Australia’s title defence.

Josh Hazlewood has missed out and will be forced to play in an Australia A side in his preparations for the Ashes, after injuring his back during this year’s home summer.

Fellow pacemen Nathan Coulter-Nile and Jason Behrendorff are the two surprise picks, while Peter Handscomb has been dropped.

The squad is made up of Aaron Finch (c), Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, and Adam Zampa.

The World Cup will be held in England and Wales from May 30 to July 14.

The Word for Today


Donate to vision

Over 80% of our income is from the freewill gifts of wonderful people just like you.
So thank you for helping. Your generous support is 'Connecting Faith to Life'.